Home > Cricket Breaking News > Pakistan announce their squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Pakistan announce their squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Published - 25-MAY-2024 10:9 IST | Updated - 25-MAY-2024 10:9 IST

G11-Fantasy Cricket Prediction for Today's Match

Pakistan announce their squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Pakistan Cricket Board on Friday announced its 15-member squad for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024. Babar Azam will captain Pakistan in the tournament to be held in America and West Indies from June 1.

Of the 15 players in the squad, this will be the first World Cup for Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Saim Ayub and Usman Khan. While Mohammad Aamir and Imad Wasim have returned. Both were last seen in the 2016 and 2021 World Cups.

Haris Rauf fully fit - PCB

PCB said in the release, this is a very talented and balanced team with a mix of youth and experience. These players have been playing together for some time and look ready for the World Cup.

PCB further said, Haris Rauf is fully fit and is bowling well in the nets. It would have been good if he had got a chance to play the match at Headingley, but we are confident that he will play in the upcoming matches as he will have an important role along with other strike bowlers in the T20 World Cup. Rauf was injured three months ago due to a shoulder injury, Rauf could not even play PSL due to injury.

Pakistan won the cup once

Pakistan has been one of the most dominant teams in the T20 World Cup since playing its first World Cup final in South Africa in 2007. The team won the 2009 World Cup under the captaincy of Younis Khan and reached the finals twice under the leadership of Shoaib Malik (2007) and Babar Azam (2022). In 2010, 2012 and 2021, the team made it to the knockouts.

Pakistan 15-member squad

Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Saeem Ayub, Fakhar Zaman, Usman Khan, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Abbas Afridi, Haris Rauf and Abrar Ahmed.

All league matches of India and Pakistan will be held in America

In the T-20 World Cup, 5 teams each were divided into 4 groups. India and Pakistan have been kept in the same group. Ireland, Canada and America are also in this group. India and Pakistan will play all their matches in America only. Tickets for India's two matches have been sold out. Apart from the India-Pakistan match, the India-Canada match is also included in these.

Latest Cricket News:

KKR Vs SRH, Final of IPL 2024

199 view


Cricket Breaking News