Home > Cricket Breaking News > South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia Ready for ICC World Cup 2027

South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia Ready for ICC World Cup 2027

Published - 11-APR-2024 6:3 IST | Updated - 15-APR-2024 7:34 IST

G11-Fantasy Cricket Prediction for Today's Match

The cricketing world is buzzing with excitement as South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia prepare to host the ICC World Cup in 2027. Set to be held across October and November, the tournament promises to be a spectacle of cricketing excellence. With eight venues selected across South Africa, the stage is set for an unforgettable sporting event.

Venue Selection Process

Cricket South Africa (CSA) CEO, Foletsi Moseki, shed light on the process behind choosing the venues. He emphasized the importance of factors like the availability of hotel rooms and airports in the selection process. While acknowledging the difficulty in leaving out three ICC-accredited venues, Moseki assured that the decision was made after careful consideration.

Confirmed Venues For 2027 Cricket World Cup

The eight selected venues in South Africa boast a rich cricketing history and promise to provide a memorable experience for players and fans alike. From the iconic Wanderers in Johannesburg to the picturesque Newlands in Cape Town, each venue is primed to host thrilling encounters. Other venues include Centurion Park in Pretoria, Kingsmead in Durban, St George's Park in Gqeberha, Boland Park in Paarl, Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein, and Buffalo Park in East London.

Namibia's Maiden Opportunity

One of the most significant highlights of the 2027 World Cup is Namibia's maiden opportunity to host matches. As a co-host alongside South Africa and Zimbabwe, Namibia's inclusion adds a new dimension to the tournament. While South Africa and Zimbabwe secure direct qualification as hosts, Namibia will participate in the African qualifiers to earn their spot.

Qualification Criteria 

A total of 14 teams will compete in the 2027 World Cup. Alongside the host nations, the top eight teams in the ICC ODI rankings will qualify automatically. Additionally, four teams will be selected through ICC's Global Qualifier Tournament, ensuring a diverse representation of cricketing talent on the global stage.

Also Get The Match Prediction of Every Match at:- Today Match Predictions - Cricket Betting Tips from Experts (100% Free)

Tournament Format

The tournament will feature two groups, each comprising seven teams. Following the group stage, the top three teams from each group will advance to the Super Six stage. From there, the journey will culminate in thrilling semi-finals and a grand final to crown the champions.

As anticipation builds and preparations intensify, cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the commencement of the ICC World Cup 2027. With the stage set and teams gearing up for battle, the tournament promises to be a celebration of cricketing excellence and sportsmanship. Stay tuned for updates and highlights as the countdown to cricket's premier event begins!

Other Latest Cricket News

326 view


Cricket Breaking News